Five Year Plan

image

I hate when people asks, where do you see yourself in five year? It makes me think of generic interview questions or self-help books.

My answers changes depending on who I am talking with or what I want to accomplish with my answer.

For the first time in my adult life I have a sincere answer and I’m looking forward to it. In five years I hope to have written at least thirty five M/M Romance stories. Yes, it sounds like a lot, but really isn’t.

I’m lucky enough to be a trophy wife— an over-educated, stay-at-home mom. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t clean or take the kids to soccer practice. Mainly, I cook, take care of the household finances, and everyone’s schedule. I’m more of a house manager, than anything else.

Yes, my hubby would love for me to get a paying job and use one of my college degrees, but I just ignore him. I like my life as is too much. Plus, I know if I get a job it would be something I’ll hate since I really want to write.

So I sat down over the weekend and wrote down all the book ideas I have. The ones I have titles, characters’ names, series ideas, etc. I didn’t know they were so many, but I had over two years to think about ideas.

This year I wrote, edited, designed, and published (scheduled) four free short stories. Therefore, I’m confident I can deal with seven stories in one year. It’s going to be a lot more work because I want to concentrate on quality, as well as quantity, but I’m ready for the challenge. And hopefully, my career will bring in some income in the near future.

I know we plan and life will interfere, but I have nothing to lose trying. There may be more or there may be less, but there’d be some. And yes, I do write under other pen names and yes again, I have some books planned there too. Only time will tell if I can add “Best Selling Author” to my book covers.

Leave a Reply

