A Problem of Lengths

#NaNoWriMo Update #1

Picture from blissfullyorgasmic.com

Picture from blissfullyorgasmic.com

No, I’m not referring to the length of my characters’ packages or the toys they may, or may not use. I’m referring to the length of their story. As I mentioned in my previous post (here), I planned to write three novellas of 20K each, this month. As of this morning, my word count is 18, 276 words or nine chapters and I’m not even fifty percent done with Prescribe Discipline. Taking into consideration that book #1 in the Exhibit series, Graphic Exposure, is 18,828 words long, I’d say Lucas and August are testing my writing skills.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not having a writer’s block or any problems with plotting or development. Simply, my characters had taken over the story. They want to take their time and enjoy the journey to their HEA. I guess I’ll need to accept this fact and let them be. After all, they know their story better than anyone else. I just hope I can at least write the following book, Behind Glass, before the end of NaNo.

Until, next time, and please forgive me if I don’t post as often as normal, but these two love to talk my ear off.

Leave a Reply

