The Calm Before the January Storm

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 1

As I mentioned in A Writing Blueprint for 2016, I have several goals for this first round of #ROW80. But, I decided to break them down even more, for accountability, and to get motivated. In the last three days, I had been getting organized, almost to the minute. I want to see if time management works better to keep Queen Procrastination away. I get sidetrack fairly easy, and my ADD is all over the roof most days. I’m creating lists, spreadsheets, and tracking everything, from tasks to work counts to keep myself and my muse in gear. If you had not met him, his name is Lysander, and he is a snarky vampire. Yes, I know I have issues, but Ly understands me.

Going back to the goals, for January, I’m planning to write 45k words divided between three stories.

  • Project #1 – 25K out of 25K
  • Project #2 – 10k out of 50K
  • Project #3 – 10K out of 100K

I’m almost ready, and on track, to start writing on Thursday, January 8th. Therefore, I should have some words to share on Sunday’s update. I only need to update my outlines, writing schedule, and spreadsheets between today and tomorrow and I’ll be ready to go.

During NaNoWriMo, I used a personal spreadsheet to keep count of my words per chapter, and then transferred the daily results to Justin McLachlan’s spreadsheet, found here.  I’ll be updating those to fit my new goals, as well as trying a yearly spreadsheet created by Sidney Bristol, found here, to have an overall perspective of my year in writing. On top of all these, I’m using Kaban Flow as a task manager. It keeps track of each activity, free time, scheduling, and so much more. It has timer and a Pomodoro clock integrated, and it’s free. At the moment, it’s tracking how long it’s taking me to create this blog post. Probably more that I want anyone to know. Oh, and I use Grammarly to go over basic typos, too.

Will see how all my gadgets affect my end-result. I’m guessing, testing this technic would be part of my #ROW80 goals.

Happy Rowing!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

4 comments

  1. I love seeing how people organize their stuff. Thanks for sharing! Those are some intimidating looking spreadsheets, though! I’ve used sheets in the past, but I had simple ones. For me, the key was daily goals and what I actually did and I cover that now in a journal/to do list. (At least I do for now.)

    Best wishes with moving onto the next stage with your goals! 🙂

    1. I agree with you, having a daily goal always challenge me to achieve it. I have a longhand to-do list as well for easy access. The spreadsheets might look intimidating, but they’re fairly easy to use.

  2. Thanks for sharing the list of resources. I need to do a better job of tracking my writing progress, so I’ll look into these.

    Good luck reaching your goals for this month and this round of ROW80!

Leave a Reply

