January ’16 Recap

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 8 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update 4

i_do_i_did_im_doneAs the first month of the year ends, I need to go back and see how far into my writing resolutions I am. In the first post of the year, I outlined my plans for 2016. Looking into it now, I can say I didn’t meet any of my January’s goals. But only because they morphed into something else.

Overall, I think I had a good month. What did I accomplish:

  • Read 25 books
  • Reviewed 22 books
  • Wrote 15 blog posts (including this one)
  • Wrote a book proposal & received approval
  • A total of 15,573 words written for the month
  • Visited and commented in other blogs and interacted with different writing groups

From Previous post:

January Writing Challenge (MM Romance Writers group)

    • 45k Words (three stories): I wrote 15,573 words, including this post.

#Row80 Round 1 (125K words total)

  • January – Short story submission – 25K words: It didn’t happen, but I wrote a proposal for a different story, and it got approved. So, I’m writing them both starting tomorrow.

The Year of Writing Dangerously (local NaNo chapter)

  • January to May – Military X-Mas, book #1 – 50K words: 0 words written for this projects; might postpone until June.

365K Club (10 Minute Novelist)

  • A goal of 365k words for 2016 with a daily word count spreadsheet: 15,573 words.
  • January to October – Triad – 100K words: o words written; postpone.

Will see what February brings 😀

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

One comment

  1. I agree. Monthly assessments of yearly goals are the best way to stay on track with your new year’s resolutions. I just did an assessment blog-post myself. Each new month is an opportunity to evaluate your progress, to celebrate your accomplishments, to acknowledge your failures, and to take what you have learned into the new month. I hope February renews your commitment towards your writing goals.

Leave a Reply

