Wondering Brain… and Shiny Things

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 9

BooksI think my reading binge is coming to a more normal pace. Yes, I had read three books in the last three days, but I can feel my brain calming down. I get flairs of creativity, and when I crash down, the only thing I want to do is read. In those moments, my concentration is shot, and I can’t control how fast it’s working. It’s almost like an adrenaline rush in which I want to do so much that I can’t concentrate on a single thing. And reading, is the only thing that helps me come back down.

I’m at that point now. I wrote a little over 500 words yesterday on one of my projects, and when I visited a publisher’s site to double check their formatting standards for the story I’m working for them, I found the next shiny thing. Another open submission I can send a proposal for and like a candle in the wind, my writing inspiration went off on hiatus because I want that new toy. I guess I’m worse than a toddler in a candy shop.

So now, I’m putting everything aside to work on this new proposal. I’m still on track for all my deadlines, and I have to have this new idea exorcise out of me. I’m just going to read for the rest of the day. Then tomorrow I’ll write some book reviews and by the end of the day, I should have new characters and a blurb for the new project. With the hopes, to write the synopsis by Friday and submit my proposal Saturday.

If everything goes as schedule, I should have more information about all this during Sunday’s check-in, and hopefully, I can go back to my abandon projects on Monday.

Have a productive week, everyone!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

