Characters Gone Bad

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 10 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update 5

For the last couple of days, I had been trying to work on a second book proposal. I had the main ideas, the characters, and the setting picked. I just needed to plot a couple more scenes before diving into the synopsis, but for some reason I couldn’t. It felt as if the story was missing something, so I did some inspirational research, Pinterest in other words, and found the missing part.

It was another MC. As I worked on the plot, I kept changing the MCs’ professions. And for some reason, I couldn’t settle. Then, I was scrolling down the pictures and saw him, the third MC. The man that was destined to bring my other two MCs together– the one that would balance the careless dreamer and the serious developer. Spencer, the calm, collected local that loves his corner of the world. And that’s how my novella turned from M/M to M/M/M.

Yes, the characters took over my planning process and now, are in charge of getting me to the end of the journey. Telling me their stories and how they would find their happy ever after without making me or themselves crazy in the process.

Do you have any misbehaving characters in your WIP?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

3 comments

  1. Sometimes I get stuck, and often it turns out my characters get along too well… as in, no romantic conflict! Once I figure out something to shake them up, I’m off and writing again. Have fun with the new direction your story is taking!

  2. I don’t believe in misbehaving characters. I’m the happiest when my characters take over, or someone totally unexpected shows up. Once, a man who was just supposed to be a one-scene incidental character who didn’t even have a name turned into a young love interest for my heroine. I didn’t even know that she wanted or needed one, and the whole novel changed for the better when he showed up.

    When these things happen, I know the characters are alive, and giving me their stories, which are always better than the ones I can invent.

    May you find delight in your three guys’ antics and entanglements!

Leave a Reply

