Captivating Your Readers

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 11

In addition to the outlines and the planning I mentioned on my previous updates, I started two stories this month. They both sit at a little over five hundred words. Generally, a reader decides if a story is worth it within the first couple of pages. There are two cliches I don’t like to use when starting a story. First, using one of the characters’ names as the first words in the opening sentence, and secondly, starting with dialogue.

Those are my preferences. What about yours?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

3 comments

  1. Interesting post that leaves me wondering because although I edit heavily,I never really thought about exactly what that first line ‘should’ or ‘shouldn’t’ be. I usually read about 8-10 paragraphs before thumbs up/thumbs down.

    I started a short story this month too — as a break from the longer work I’m editing. OK,here’s my first line: We stopped for a week at Padre Island, a small sliver of land off Corpus Christi, right on the Gulf Coast, with black-faced gulls and brown pelicans rising on the constant morning wind.

    Have a great writing week!

  2. Sounds like you’re making good progress. Good for you.
    As to how to best begin a story … I’m going to have to give that some thought. I like to feel as if I’ve stumbled upon life already in progress. So dialogue is fine by me.
    Have a great week!

  3. I think you’re right that it can be a bit of a cliche to start with dialogue and also to slip in the character’s name on line one, though I think it depends on the story, and if you write for certain markets, they may expect it.

    I’ve been doing some short shorts lately for just-for-fun comps on the SFF Chronicles forum site: 75 words or 300, with set topics. So far, I’ve taken a different approach with each one, and I’m hoping it will allow me to broaden my approach, with there being so many ‘rules’ that writers are told to follow these days!

Leave a Reply

