More of a Routine

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 18 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update 9

No real updates for today. I’m at that point in the writing process in which I hate the way the story is developing. It has nothing to do with the plot or the planning, but everything to do with second guessing my outline and the higher expectations I have for myself.

I know what I want to accomplish with this particular manuscript, but I’m not getting there, yet. The first twenty-five percent always bring the same issue. The good part it’s that it allows me to redirect my plans before my characters get out of control.

Personally, having a routine helps me push through this stepping stone. I know I have to do it, like it or not. I need to write and procrastinate at a later time. Word by word, plan by plan, I move forward until I cross that invisible barrier. After that, finishing a story becomes as easily as following my daily routine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

2 comments

  1. It’s always fascinating to read bits of processes that are so different from my own, and suit someone else perfectly. I think it goes to show that no one can tell us how to do this thing – that’s what we have to figure out for ourselves.

    May you break through that barrier soon! =D

Leave a Reply

