Caging the Plot Bunnies

2016 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In 20 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update 10

I’m still in writing mode, and the plot bunnies are taking their free time to reproduce. I get easily distracted by shiny things, like new releases from fellow authors in my genre and the bunnies take that time to play.

I think, I have enough plot bunnies, characters, titles, and plans to last me anywhere from 2 to 5 years depending on how many stories I write a year. That’s without counting all the possibilities I ignore, i.e. open calls, flash fictions, and everyday life.

So far, my favorite way to cage my plot bunnies is to place them on Pinterest boards. It’s one of the first things I do when I get an idea. Then, I try to ignore them, but most of the time they keep bugging.

To compensate their suffering, I picked, at the beginning of the year, the ones that were speaking the loudest and set a temporary plan of attack. Even so, they keep trying to move in front of others.

I’m planning on participating on CampNaNo, in April, and all the bunnies are trying to fight their way to the starting line. I’m going to wait until we are closer to the first to see if they take their rightful place in line.

What about you? Do you have trouble wrangling your plot bunnies too?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

One comment

  1. Really like your idea of using Pinterest as a jumping off place. Maybe it’s because I am a pretty visual thinker and love inserting images into my drafts (settings, characters, maps, etc). I’m doing the A-to-Z Challenge in April (daily blog) and am still wavering between two themes. Maybe your plot bunnies hopped over to my computer! Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

