Deconstructing a Story

2016 #ROW80 Round 2: Check-In 11

When I wrote Graphic Exposure, I didn’t have the time to add everything I wanted. So, I wrote notes about all the things that needed to be added to make the story what I first envisioned.

Now, I’m trying to figure out where those notes fit best. I thought about leaving the story as is since it had a good reception, but I think my characters deserve more.  The first two books in what’s now the Exhibits series are intrinsically intertwined, and I want to add the same cohesion to the rest of the books.

Today, I separated the story back down to individual scenes. The next step is to see what needs to be expanded on and where to add the notes & new ideas. I need to add at least 36,000 more words to get it into the short novel realm and to fit with the next story.

As I deconstructed the story, I realized the characters’ backgrounds were mostly left out of the picture, and their present took most of the space. The transitions were quick, but they worked with the overall sense of a short story.

What the story needs now is for the characters journey to be as important as the end result. Yes, they got a HEA originally, but they deserve to savor the events that brought them together in the first place.

Therefore, for the next month, I’d be giving my MCs a story to tell their grandkids. Well, at least the PG-13 version of their love story.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

2 comments

  1. It’s so hard to reach the happy middle ground of telling too much about your characters and not enough. Because our characters are real people -if only in our heads -they have lived real lives. In the novel of mine that I am editing now, there is so much I want to write about my MCs past lives, it’s hard to cut it back to only those things that further the story.

    Best of luck working on yours.

  2. Characters can be complicated at times. The journey never ends after writing one story. Sometimes another pops up, jumps up and down, waving its’ arm around and say pick me.

Leave a Reply

