Shelving M​y Darlings

2016 #ROW80 Round 3: Check-In #6 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #24

Remember that story I talked about during my last update? Yup, the one I had only five more chapters to complete. Well, it’s now shelved; for the second time this year. I don’t like to kill my darlings, but I do put them aside often.

What happened? My main characters decided to kiss for the first time at the end of chapter two instead of chapter five as indicated on my basic outline. Therefore, the story had no plot or UST left. I spent Saturday trying to figure out how to update it, but in the end, decided to stop working on it and move to a different project.

The funny part? I had shelved the project I’m currently working on at the beginning of this year in favor of my travel short, and now, I have gone full circle. So far, I have half an outline and four hundred words in this other story. If I can stay on track, I should be able to finish by the first week of August, which was my original plan.

Will see what happens from now ’til Wednesday. I guess I can always bounce between the two.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

 

3 comments

  1. I can bounce between short stories mostly because I never finish them haha, but I do get what you’re going through. Characters have this way of taking over the story, although I guess that’s the point of characters in the first place. Good luck with continuing to write!

  2. I do this all the time. It’s one of the reasons I have so many open projects (and my characters, as wonderful as they are, are all quite pig-headed and stubborn and totally unwilling to compromise on a single thing… kind of like their author; so we…. “give each other space” 😉 )

    Hopefully they’ll be ready to work well. And… who knows? Maybe that first kiss was an accident? Maybe they didn’t want to kiss at the time, just thought they did? It could be something like that…

Leave a Reply

