The Calm Before the Storm

2016 #ROW80 Round 3: Check-In #9

Right now I’m between projects. I completed the first round of edits with my publisher for one of my stories but still have to integrate some beta comments to another before sending it in. And my next deadline isn’t until September 15th when my two BDSM stories are due.

I’m using this downtime to do all those pesky things that can become a nuisance when I’m in my writing mode. Pending book reviews, website updates, book & series planning, and the list goes on and on. But one thing that’s essential during this time is cleaning my desk and bookshelves.

2016-08-03 09.30.25
I have mentioned before that my desk is a full-size dining room table that fits six. When we moved, we decided to donate the chairs we had in hopes to find something that fitted better with the new place. In the end, we moved to a house with an eat-in kitchen and forwent the table.

Yes, we do have a formal dining room, but we put an air hockey table in there. One of the benefits of having kids, we can pretend is for them, but my husband and I use it the most. But back to my desk, I love the space, and it fits in the family room nook. Therefore, I can socialize with the family every so often.

For me, cleaning my desk is like putting my last project to rest before moving to the next. I know that as soon as I start writing again, I’m going to pile up notes, references, and the kid’s drawings, but I can look forward until I can clean it again, marking the end of another project.

It’s almost like that back to school feeling we got when we were little. Everything is nice and ready to start the semester, but by the time it was over we were ready to get rid of everything and relax.

If everything continues as planned, I should start my next projects by Monday and hopefully be done by the end of the month. What about you? Any in-between projects rituals?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

 

4 comments

  1. I’m in a similar mode, but without kids. I just came off Camp NaNoWriMo and am catching up on various things before diving into the next project. Best wishes.

  2. Being between projects tends to get me into a “do all the things” clean-up mode, where I answer past emails, run through blog comments, critiques and betas I owe people, stuff (toss bits of paper… “stuff!”).

    Congrats on finishing those edits. That’s something I should work on now… thanks for the nudge.

Leave a Reply

