Getting the Perfect Cover

2016 #ROW80 Round 3: Check-In #11

I have spent the last three days trying to figure out what I’d like to see on the cover of my upcoming novella. I created the covers for all my previous stories, and this is the first time I need to tell someone else what I’m looking for. The problem is that I don’t know what I want.

Four Stories copy

My publisher provided me with a lot of information to start the process, and my input is going to be essential to the final cover. I’m looking forward to working with their art department and see what they come up with, but I have to give them an idea where to start.

I know I don’t want the traditional cover with two characters floating atop, the title in the middle and a portrait at the bottom. Also, I’m not a fan of bare, headless torsos. I like simple lines, and crisp fonts more than a busy composition.

At least, I narrowed my pick of artists and styles. Now, I just need to decide what my dream cover would be. What about you? Do you know what you want on your cover as soon as you start writing, or inspiration hits when the time’s right?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

3 comments

  1. I’ve been thinking about covers recently and wondering if I need new covers. Good on you for working on this. I did read M.K. Tod’s survey of readers of historical fiction (men read for action/adventure; women for relationships). So, knowing your reader will help you pick a cover that will appeal to them. When your books are on Amazon, you need to pick a category. So scanning covers in that category/genre can also help. I agree with you in wanting a cover that’s distinctive. One strategy I really dislike, though, is the tendency with some covers to cut heads off and focus on the body (both men and women). Your covers show compelling faces. The font needs to be readable, especially when that cover goes down to thumbprint size. So those first two covers were a little hard for me to read, even at ‘blog post’ size! But I do love them all! Can’t wait to see what your new cover will be. Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

