The Attack of the Extras

2016 #ROW80 Round 3: Check-In #21

As most of you know, I prefer to write short stories and novellas. I like challenging myself to tell a story in the less amount of words possible. I also love 100 words flash fiction pieces for the same reason.

The downside? The extra work for them accumulated fairly quickly. I have one story releasing on Monday and today, I received a request from the publisher to write a guest post for a blog tour. My next release is the one I’m currently working on, which I have to submit as soon as possible. I sent the first three chapters to my alpha editor, and I got them back today too. Oh, and did I mention I still need to work on the cover?

After that is my Holiday release for which I received the final edits last Monday. I still need to work on those, select two excerpts to use for promotion, figure out a timeframe for the rest of the series and send the information back by the end of the week. Then, I need to decide if I’m going to participate in an open call they asked me to consider.

And… and… I got an email letting me know that my novella, to be released Feb/Mar ’17, just entered pre-production. Therefore, I should be receiving the first set of edits at the beginning of October, and the complete process should take about twelve weeks.

So, if you think you can finish one project and move to the next, think twice. Always scheduled extra time to fine-tune your work and keep your sanity. And none of this includes release day/week marketing, regular blog maintenance, social media interactions, book reviews, or new writing. Yeah, not real life neither.

But you know what? It’s a great problem to have. 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

 

3 comments

  1. I was thinking the same thing – ‘that’s a great problem to have’ – being so busy with edits and writing and promotion and planning. Good to be busy, isn’t it? Best wishes with all of that

  2. You are so on target with this. Even as a self published writer, I am still struggling with time frames. Things are always more complicated than they seem.

    I wish I had your enthusiasm for brevity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

