Backup Plan

2016 #ROW80 Round 4: Check-In #10 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #37

Last week didn’t go according to plan, but I’m okay with that. Getting into November, I knew my #NaNoWriMo aspirations were perhaps too high. Last year, I did 55K words in twenty-three days, but I was pretty clear about my story and characters before the start. Plus, real life was smooth sailing. This year, RL had been playing games and trying to be difficult. Things are starting to normalize, and I’m starting to get back into the game.

On Monday, I’m planning to wrap up everything I have pending, and I’m using Tuesday to get back into the writing groove. Therefore, Wednesday, when I give you my next update, I should be starting my #NaNo project for real this time. It’s not going to be 50K words, just a 10K short story I want to submit by the end of the month.

I’m leaving the novella for December and January since I need to submit it by the end of January. And then, to start the next project which proposal I’m expanding in the next couple of days.

Overall, I’m sticking to smaller goals–focus on the next release instead of getting to the next story I want to write. I need to stop trying to rush what I’m working on to get to the next best thing. I want to get invested in the now. Will see how long this will last.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

One comment

Leave a Reply

