The Power of Routines

2016 #ROW80 Round 4: Check-In #15 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #40

I wrote my last updated, Review Loving, early in the morning. Today’s is happening after 10:30pm even when I’ll adjust the posting time to show and earlier time. Why is this relevant? Because I love routines and to-do lists.

Earlier today, I took part of #RWChat–a weekly chat for Romance & Women’s Fiction Writers every Sunday at 4pm PST | 7pm EST–on Twitter, and the topic was self-awareness. Their opening message asked about our weekend and my answer was simple, getting ready to get back to my routine. 

Every Sunday, I plan the following week, and I was in the midst of erasing all the little drawings my two-year-old had left in my planner. That’s what happens when you go grocery shopping and the hubby is in charge of the kids. I did keep a couple drawings, though.

Tomorrow the kids go back to school, and I go back to my writing. But first, I need to work on re-establishing my routine. I’ll work Monday and Tuesday and use the information to set the pace. Most likely for the next three weeks since the holiday break is coming soon.

I am a creature of habit. I set alarms for everything–from waking up in the morning to bus schedules and naps. That’s how I work best since I’m easily distracted. A good routine makes me feel accomplish, and marking a task as completed brings me closer to the next publication date.

Will see how this goes since I’m ready to get back in the groove of things. December is going to be a hectic month, but hopefully, a very successful one.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

Ten Minute Novelists

One comment

  1. I’m the same way. I made to-do lists and if something isn’t on there, it’s not likely to get done. My kids have today off, so I won’t get back to my full routine until tomorrow, though I try to keep as close to it as I can.

Leave a Reply

