Dear Writing Diary…

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Update #1

As you see by the title, I decided to keep these posts all about my writing progress with the advise essays here and there. So you would get more ramblings from me. You know I like the sound of my voice, our my keyboard in this case.

One thing I love is to help others do better and I realized yesterday is something I have in common with my husband. It only took us sixteen years to figured it out. He got a message from one of his mates letting him know the sailor had gotten the rank he had been working for. The funny part, my husband helped him outline a path to achieve this, but never did it for himself. Just like me, we get the satisfaction to see others succeed.

And it’s one of the reason I’m always looking for references books to suggest, or characters bibles to try. Having someone find the right formula that works for them, is as important to me as to get my own work to reach an audience. Writing is a solitary endeavor, but even the greatest met from time to time for smokes and cognac. At lease, we have the cyber universe to stay connected.

As for goals, I’m keeping strong during this first week, even when I haven’t written any new words. I needed to find the right balance before I could commit to my characters. Everything so far is working and with the kids going back to school tomorrow, and the hubby changing shifts next week, I should be ready to finish all my extra tasks and be ready to start writing on Monday.

I still need to decide which book is going to be my side project. I normally only work on one. I have tried multiples, but it didn’t work for me. Now, I’m hoping to get a secondary just for the days when my first #WIP is not cooperating. My original plan, as I mentioned in my last update, was to edit Graphic Exposure, but I’m no sure, yet. I have a children book calling for my attention. Plus, I wrote an MF speculative fiction novel several years ago that I want to edit. So will see which project wins the final battle.

Oh, and did I mention I’m taking the weekends off. I’m only doing the #RainbowSnippets and the #ROW80 Sunday update. Any writing, editing, etc., that might happen during those days is going to be all icing.

So far:

  • 3 books read
  • 4 blog post written
  • 2 book reviewed
  • Blogging schedule planned
  • Yearly plan outlined
  • Routine planned
  • Life dealt with

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

3 comments

  1. I love the “life dealt with”. I might have to borrow that phrase if you don’t mind, to add to my weekly progress reports. 🙂

    Have fun getting back into your writing this week, and good luck on your goals progress this week!

Leave a Reply

