Kids & Writing

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Update #5

With the kids out of school on Monday due to the Martin Luther King Jr. holiday, the last three days had flown by. On top of that, my ten-year-old science fair project was due today. Yes, last night she went to bed on time and I ended up gluing the last data slides on the project board. But that’s because I’m way too much of a helicopter mom.

This same kid decided to take violin classes after school. Therefore, two days a week I have to go pick her up after her younger sister gets home. And why I’m telling you this? Because we had to go to the music store to rent the violin and for the first time, I wrote self-employed in the employment field when I was filling the paperwork.

And why is this relevant? Well, for someone with two college degrees, it’s sometimes hard to write down stay-at-home parent when filling this kind of forms. Don’t get me wrong, I love staying at home with the kids and have refused to go back to work in an office environment because of it. I think it has to do more with my now long lost five & ten-year plans.

But I’m proud to report that when they asked me what I did, I said that I’m a writer. When he asked is I was published, I said yes. And when he asked what I wrote, I said romances. That needs to go one step further but I’m not sure the three middle-aged male employees would have appreciated if I had said gay romances. I might be fallen into the stereotype wagon, but maybe next time.

And talking about gay romances, I have an idea for an F/F short story I’m going to play around with today, to see if it’s viable. If not, I’m going back to the other two stories I should be concentrating on.

So Far:

  • 2 books read (one of them mine)
  • 3 blog posts written
  • 1 books reviewed (finally under control)
  • 1 flash fiction piece
  • Finished first round of edits for BJH
  • Promo work

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

One comment

  1. Hey, we just got a cello for my son. No lessons, at least not yet; he just wanted to play a cello, and a friend was selling one, so now we own a cello!

    Big steps at the music store – hooray for you! Like you, I love being home with my kids, although I’ll be taking part-time work soon, now that they’re 15 and 12.5 and don’t need me as intensely as they used to. I left the workforce the year my son was school-eligible, to concentrate on homeschooling, and I’ve never regretted it for more than a few hours at a time.

    I always put ‘writer’ as my occupation.

    Have fun with the story idea! =)

Leave a Reply

