Selling Myself

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In #6 | 10 Minute Novelist: Update #3

This year, I’m taking a different approach to marketing. I’m trying to be more proactive. My holiday short story did well, but I don’t think it reached beyond a handful of professional readers and reviewers. The majority of the reviews it received were through an ARC management service I contacted.

I had a release day blitz, but I didn’t get to do a blog tour due to some communication issues. I can’t complain about the end result. Plus, I expect the next book in the series [whenever I finish it] to bring more attention to this short story.

So, for this new release, I started planning in advance. My publisher gave the information about release date, media kits, etc. ahead of time and I got the chance to think about what I wanted to do.

What I’m doing differently? I created a monthly newsletter to coincide with the story’s cover reveal. In order to get subscribers, I used Instafreebie to give away a short story. For now, it’s the only way to get it. Also, I signed up for advertisement newsletters for both stories.

I’m getting ARC management services for the free story as well as the new release. Plus, I joined two Valentine’s day giveaways to coincide with a twenty stop blog tour put together in conjunction with my publisher.

The new book has been in pre-order, at the publisher’s website only, for a week and it’s doing well. I’m sure it has sold more copies that my holiday release had done since November of last year. Only for that, the whole thing has paid off.

And talking about investments, I haven’t spent more than $75 overall. Including proofreading of the free story, formatting, ARC management, etc.

One thing, though, all these takes time. I have to write the guest posts & the newsletter, email the bloggers and authors, setup Instafreebie, Mailchimp, and create teasers, and other marketing swag. And I have to stay on top of everything. Sharing info on Twitter & Facebook when possible.

What I expected to get out of it? Well, more readers. Not only those that read professionally for review blogs or other authors. But those that use whatever free time they have during their day to enjoy a story. That single person that would enjoy the escape and remember my story fondly.

Anything else? Yes. I’m blogging every day. I take part of established events, like #RainbowSnippets, #10MinutesNovelist, #ROW80, #MondayFlashFics, #SharingIsCaring, Twitter chats, and many other things that allow me to interact with readers and other authors. The more I put myself there, the more progress I’ll achieve creating a brand.

Oh, and did I mentioned I have more than one pen name and projects in different genres? Plus, I’m moving out-of-state soon? I know, way too much on my plate, but I won’t have it any other way.

Will see how this experiment goes, and if it’s worth repeating. Do you use the same marketing plan with each release or do you change it depending on your story?

Accomplishments for week #3:

  • Read: 1 books
  • Reviewed: 1 full book reviews
  • Written: Weekly update for A Demon’s Duty to the Devil’s Son & Summoned 
  • Planned: next week’s schedule & plan of action for secondary pen names
  • Edited: Finished reading BJH & created Scrivener files and plan of attack
  • Promo: Group sign-ups; newsletter outreach; plan guest post topics
  • Extras: many emails, posts, and many other words; another 5K+ words

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 LogoTen Minute Novelists

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

