The Next Steps

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Update #11

It seems if I have been starting all my posts saying “the last couple of weeks,” but yes, the last couple of weeks had changed my perspective and the direction of my career. I think, my personal life is playing a role as well since I’d be moving to another state during the summer.

I am a Navy wife and I’m used to moving around when necessary. My husband retired a bit over two years ago and we thought our travel days were over, but we were wrong. The best part about moving is the opportunity to re-invent ourselves. My kids love moving too which is a plus.

This time, I’m using the opportunity to re-invent my career as well. I like what I do, but lately, the stories had been hard to write. I don’t think I love the genre as much anymore. I do love my characters, but they need to be free to make their own decisions. I mentioned before not wanting to write for deadlines this year and I think that still a good idea.

At the moment, I only have one more book to write for my publisher and I have complete control of where I want to take it. I do have some pending projects that need some editing and that’s what I’m going to concentrate in the next couple of months. By the end of the month, I should be done with all the promo for my upcoming release and I hope to use some of those days to plan the rest of the edits of my menage story.

After that, I’m writing that one book and editing two more. By the time I’m done is going to be time to move. I’ll play with ideas over the summer and plan my new stories. I’m not going to rush them, but by fall, I hope to be back to writing. I have two series that I’m planning to combine, and then, I’m going to look for an agent.

Why? Because I’m slowly realizing that I can’t write only one genre. I love MM Romances, but I want to try MF, and children books. I know, polar opposites, but that’s how my brain works. And I have learned to follow my instincts, which are telling me to let go an experiment around now that I have the chance and the time.

So far this week:

  • 2 book read
  • 2 book reviews
  • 3 regular blog posts
  • 4 guest blog posts
  • 1 interview
  • 1 flash fiction piece
  • Lots of promo work

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

2 comments

  1. I don’t see why you can’t ‘reinvent’ yourself at any time when you are a writer. I mean, I get how needing to move can be a bit of a way of setting a dividing line in your life so the transition is easier to follow through.

    That said.. I also see no reason why you can’t write in whatever genre you choose (need to emotionally). Some of your readership might not take to the change, but you’ll acquire new readers for the new genres. Write what you need to.

  2. I think what you’re doing makes sense, but have you considered indie publishing? I ultimately chose to do that for the freedom it gives me over everything, including what genres I write. I know it’s not for everyone, but I thought I’d throw it out there.

Leave a comment