Plot Bunnies

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In #14

I have many stories I want to write and I keep track of them using Pinterest. That way, if something catches my eye, I can save it and have it ready when it’s time to write. It’s kind of my plot bunny farm. I love stopping by to visit and rediscover all those characters waiting for me.

Yesterday, I worked on a blurb, characters, and rough outline for a short story I want to write. Well, instead of moving further into the planning stage today, the story’s going back into the farm. I realized I want to dedicate more time to it, which I don’t have at the moment. Plus, it turned into a YA paranormal. I’d have to do a lot of research before I can write something like that.

So today is back to square one. My new routine with several blocks of time for writing and editing seems to be helping as well. I don’t feel guilty taking the time to brainstorm and research when I know I’d have time to do some editing later on the day. Plus, it keeps me away from social media during those times.

Also, I’m trying to get used to working on more than one project at a time. In hopes to switch between them when I hit that dread spot in which I have to fight with my characters to move forward. It also helps to keep a constant stream of possible releases in the near future.

I think I have enough story concepts to last me, at least, five years. If I could only write faster.

So far this week:

  • 2 books read
  • 2 books reviews
  • 3 regular blog posts
  • 1 flash fiction piece
  • Last promo posts

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

