Branding & the Rounds to Come

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Check-In #21| 10 Minute Novelist: Update #11

During the last week, I have seen several authors in my genre asking for tips and tricks about marketing, branding, and website design. As I mentioned before, I come from a design and business administration background. Therefore, not getting caught in all the bells and whistles is hard.

On my last update, I mentioned my secondary pen name–Leigh Hunter–and my plans for the near future. All of them are part of the brand I’m trying to establish. It might sound counterproductive since I should be using all my time to write more stories, but I can have the best book ever and without a way to get it out to people it would fail.

I’m not doing anything drastic or changing more than I could fix on my own, but during the time off from #Row80, I’d be working on fixing my websites (yes, I have more than one, or two) and consolidating my social media outlets. At the same time, I’d be plotting and outlining my CampNaNo novel and finishing the last of my book reviews (I’m taking a hiatus until Fall).

One thing that would change for the next round would be the website in which I post this updates. I realized that mostly everything I talk about on Wednesdays & Sundays is gear toward other authors and not readers. And with that in mind, I’d be moving my future updates to one of my other websites, Hunter Hues.

See you all next Wednesday to check which goals I accomplished during the last eighty days.

Accomplishments for week #11:

  • Read: 5 books
  • Reviewed: 7 book
  • Written: Weekly update for A Demon’s Duty to the Devil’s Son & Blinds
  • Planned: Read reference guide
  • Edited: NA
  • Promo: NA
  • Extras: many emails, posts, and many other words

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 LogoTen Minute Novelists

3 comments

  1. That’s a really good idea! I was originally using the pen name Erin Kendall when I started my website and blog. But I ended up publishing under my given name, which got confusing. I’m still working on changing things.

    I’ve been considering moving my ROW80 posts elsewhere, too. Haven’t made any decisions yet though.

Leave a Reply

