Writing Guides Obsession

2017 #ROW80 Round 1: Update #3

One thing I do before I start a new project is to read about writing. For some, it might seem unnecessary since each book serves as practice for the next, but, I like to find new ways to make the next #WIP sail smoothly. I’m still trying to get comfortable into a writing structure.

I’m not much for following the same formula for each project. Each one is a new challenge and for it, I need a new set of skills or at least, to freshen up what I know. Perhaps when I find the perfect system, I’d stop doing this, but for now, I’d keep reading writing guides.

This time around, I haven’t read one per se. I have looked over the free samples for several books, but none had caught my eye. I looked at The Miracle Morning for Writers by Hal Elrod & Steve Scott, Writing Habit Mastery by S. J. Scott, Prosperous Creation by Monica Leonelli, Characters Arcs by Jordan McCollum & Creating Character Arcs by K.M. Weiland. And I started The Story Toolkit by Susan Bischoff months ago.

See the pattern there? I have trouble getting focus and into a routine. Plus, I want my characters to get some depth. I have been writing short stories and novellas for so long, that my characters try to keep their stories and feelings simple and to the point. So hopefully, by my next update, I’d have some new words to report. Even if none of them had benefit from all the technical reading.

So Far:

  • 2 books read
  • 3 blog posts written
  • 4 books reviewed
  • 1 flash fiction piece
  • WIPs set up for editing & outlining
  • Promo work

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ROW80 Logo

A Round of Words in 80 days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

2 comments

  1. I’ve taken so much time off from writing, it’s been hard to get back into a habit. It’s been a while since I’ve read any kind of guide. Maybe it’s time to brush-up! Have a good writing week!

  2. I learned a lesson about my characters recently. I do tend to overuse specific quirks for my female MCs. I had a character who, in my mind, was a lot like Carrie Fisher. (I started the story a few weeks before she died.) A situation came up in the story and I wrote her reaction one way, then I realized that it was not at ALL like Carrie…it was more of a standard stereotype I overuse. Needless to say, I changed it, then went back to make sure I hadn’t already made the same mistake.

Leave a Reply

